ReBop Union


ReBop Union is a Jazz quintet that has really taken off, since their first concert in 2005. The group was started by the three Italian musicians, Francesco Cigna, Orazio Maugeri and Tony Cigna, with the idea of doing a band that didn´t follow the fashions and dictations of the music industry of today but instead focused on pure swing and energy. They were soon joined by the two amazing Scandinavian jazz musicians, the Danish, Thomas Fryland and Daniel Franck from Sweden.

Since the very first time, that these musicians appeared on stage together, there has been a special feeling of connection between them. This has resulted in a series of captivating concerts, with great intensity in jazz clubs and festivals around Europe. 


                             Sounds good… music for the open minded

                                       Listen to samples:   What Is This Thing Called Love     Mondello  

MANAGEMENT & BOOKING:   Phone: +45  22291648  or   +45 75860707 


ReBop Union has just released their new CD, Blue Notes on label "Calibrated Records".

This is a no nonsense jazz recording, with lots of new compositions from the band. The album has already been very well received by the public as well as the critics.


In the danish magazine "Jazz Special" the album was described as: "...a must for every bebop fan out there!" 

In the newspaper Jydske Vestkysten, Peter Tougaard gave the album 5 of 6 stars and wrote:  "Three Italian jazz musicians and two Scandinavians, have with great succes found common ground in the Hard Bop music on this beautyfull album."

"The style may originate from America but the tone is european-scandinavian, and the music has a lovely swing that will excite all Bebop fans."


Thomas Fryland, trumpet player and composer graduated from "The Royal Conservatory" in Haag, Holland in 1992. From 1993 till 2006 he has released 11 cd´s as a leader and has participated on a large number of recordings as a sideman. He has received a number of honors for his playing and recordings. From 1998 till 2005 he was a member of the Danish Radio Big Band. Since 2005 he is the teacher of jazz trumpet at the conservatories in Copenhagen, Århus and Ålborg in Denmark. Through the years he has recorded and toured with greats like Phil Woods (US), Benny Golson (US), Maria Schneider (US), Jim McNeely (US), Eric Alexander (US), Renee Rosnes, Sam Yahel (US), Dave Hazeltine, Kenny Drew (US), NHØP (DK), Bob Mintzer (US), Tim Hagans (US), Randy Brecker (US), Duke Jordan (US), Toots Thielemans (US), Ivan Lins, a.m.o.

Orazio Maugieri, alt saxophone player and composer educated at "The music conservatory Vincenzo Bellini” in Italy. Have played and recorded with a long line of musicians of international reputation such as Sam Rivers (US), Steve Swallow (US), Gary Valenti (US), Tom Harrell (US), Paolo Fresu ( I ), Jack Walrath (US), Lester Bowie (US), Arturo Sandoval (CUBA) and Micky Howard (US).

Francesco Cigna, guitar player and composer, born In Italy 1981, graduated from "The Carl Nielsen Academy of Music" in Odense, Denmark.  As a leader and freelance musician Francesco has  performed and recorded with international artists such as Kasper Tranberg (DK), Jesper Riis (DK), Jonas Westergaard (DK), Niels Ryde (DK), Christina Von Bülow (DK), Marco Tamburini ( I ). This has brought him on several tours in Denmark and Italy as well as Japan.

Daniel Franck, swedish double-bass player. Educated at "The Rhythmic Music Conservatory in Copenhagen, Denmark, has played in several projects the last couple of years, amongst others with Doug Raney (US), Jens winther (DK), Carsten Dahl (DK), Ben Besiakow (DK), his elder brother Thomas Franck (S) and the Italian virtuous pianist Antonio Farao

Tony Cigna, drummer and composer was admitted to "The Berklee College of Music" at 1984. Has been playing in various contests both in Denmark and abroad with, amongst others, Jeff Silvertrust (US), Paul Jeffrey (US), Marco Tamburini ( I ), Thomas Agergaard (DK), Nikolaj Hess (DK), Jesper Riis (DK), Jonas Westergaard (DK), Christina Von Bülow (DK), Finn Ziegler (DK) and Niels Ryde (DK). a.m.o.


                                                                               Frontpage Biography | Discography | Photos | Press | Contact | Festivals | Schedule